Dominique Blanc

Intro French actress
Is Actor Stage actor Film actor
From France
Type Film, Television, Stage and Radio
Gender female
Birth 25 April 1956, 7th arrondissement of Lyon, France
Star sign Taurus

Dominique Blanc (born 25 April 1956) is a French actress. She is known for her roles in the films May Fools (1990), Indochine (1992), La Reine Margot (1994), Those Who Love Me Can Take the Train (1998), and The Other One (2008). In a career spanned nearly four decades, Blanc has won four César Awards from nine nominations.

Life and career

She was trained at the French Drama school, Cours Florent. In 1980, at the suggestion of Pierre Romans in whose class she was, Patrice Chéreau went to see her and engaged her for a performance of Henrik Ibsen's Peer Gynt. She remained one of Chéreau's preferred actresses. One of the most critically acclaimed French actresses, Blanc has won four César Awards. One for Best Actress in 2000 for Stand-by [fr] and three for Best Actress in a Supporting Role: in 1990 for May Fools (Milou en mai), in 1992 for Indochine and in 1998 for Those Who Love Me Can Take the Train (Ceux qui m'aiment prendront le train) and has been nominated four more times. On 6 September 2008, she won the Volpi Cup for Best Actress at the 65th Venice Film Festival.


Year Title Author Director Notes
1981 Peer Gynt Henrik Ibsen Patrice Chéreau
1982 Schliemann, épisodes ignorés Bruno Bayen Bruno Bayen
1983 The Screens Jean Genet Patrice Chéreau
The Idiot Fyodor Dostoyevsky Jean-Louis Thamin
Tonio Kröger Thomas Mann Pierre Romans
1984 The Vast Domain Arthur Schnitzler Luc Bondy
1985-86 The Underpants Carl Sternheim Jacques Rosner
1987 The Marriage of Figaro Pierre Beaumarchais Jean-Pierre Vincent Nominated – Molière Award for Best Female Newcomer
1988 The Misanthrope Molière Antoine Vitez
Anacaona Jean Metellus Antoine Vitez (2)
1993-94 Woyzeck Georg Büchner Jean-Pierre Vincent (2)
1996 Poèmes et proses René Char Festival d'Avignon
Apothéose Arthur Schnitzler
1997 A Doll's House Henrik Ibsen Deborah Warner Molière Award for Best Actress
2000 Mickey La Torche Natacha de Pontcharra Festival d'Avignon
2002 The Seagull Anton Tchekhov Philippe Calvario
2003 Phèdre Jean Racine Patrice Chéreau (3) Nominated – Molière Award for Best Actress
2008-11 La Douleur Marguerite Duras Patrice Chéreau (4) Molière Award for Best Actress
2012 Perséphone Igor Stravinsky Peter Sellars
2013 The Mistress of the Inn Carlo Goldoni Marc Paquien
2015 Les Liaisons dangereuses Pierre Choderlos de Laclos Christine Letailleur
2016 Britannicus Jean Racine Stéphane Braunschweig
2016 Vania Anton Tchekhov Julie Deliquet
2017 Le Petit-Maître corrigé Pierre de Marivaux Clément Hervieu-Léger
2017 Le Testament de Marie Colm Tóibín Deborah Warner


Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters (2015)

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *