Werner Rauh

Intro German botanist
A.K.A. Rauh
Was Scientist Botanist Biologist Professor Educator
From Germany
Type Academia Science
Gender male
Birth 16 May 1913, Niemegk, Germany
Death 7 April 2000, Heidelberg, Germany (aged 86 years)
Star sign Taurus

Werner Rauh (16 May 1913 in Niemegk – 7 April 2000 in Heidelberg) was an internationally renowned German biologist, botanist and author.


Born in the town of Niemegk near Bitterfeld, Rauh studied at Biology faculty at the University of Halle under the famous morphologist Wilhelm Troll and received his doctorate in Botany in 1937 before coming to the University of Heidelberg two years later. He discovered or described some 1200 genera, species and varieties of plants from Africa, the Americas and Asia. His fields of specialization were the Bromeliads and succulent plants. He was a Professor at the University of Heidelberg and Director of the Institute of Plant Systematics and Plant Geography as well as Director of the Heidelberger Botanical Gardens and authored over 300 scholarly books and articles. His work on the succulent and xerophytic flora of Madagascar is presented in his two-volume work Succulent and Xerophytic Plants of Madagascar.

Selected publications

Kakteen an ihren Standorten, 1979, ISBN 3-489-51924-8 Die 100 schönsten Kakteen, Humboldt-Taschenbuchverlag, 1980, ISBN 3-581-66370-8 Die großartige Welt der Sukkulenten, 1979 Schöne Kakteen und andere Sukkulenten, 1967 Bromelien – Tillandsien und andere kulturwürdige Bromelien, Verlag Eugen Ulmer, Stuttgart 1990, ISBN 3-8001-6371-3 Succulent and Xerophytic Plants of Madagascar, Vol. 1 + 2, Strawberry Press, 1995 + 1998, ISBN 0-912647-14-0


1950: Morocco 1954: Peru, Ecuador 1956: Peru 1959/1960: Madagascar, Tasmania, Kenya 1961: Madagascar, South Africa 1963: Madagascar, Comoros 1964: South Africa 1966: Mexico 1967: Peru 1968: South Africa 1969: Madagascar, Comoros 1970: Peru, Mexico 1971: USA 1973: Ecuador, Galapagos Islands Peru, Brazil 1974: Mexico 1975: Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Panama 1976: Peru, Bolivia, Chile 1977: USA Guatemala, Costa Rica, Panama 1978: Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines 1979: Namibia, South Africa 1980: Mexico, Peru, Ecuador 1981: Brazil 1982: USA, Panama, Dominican Republic 1983: Ecuador, Peru, Argentina 1984: Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Panama 1985: USA, Mexico, Peru 1986: Brazil 1994: Madagascar

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *